Miscellaneous ⇒ Licenses, GPL & Violations :: Archives ⇒ Licenses, i cant seem to get grip on whats OK and not.. :: Archived ⇒ Community Forums ⇒ CPG Dragonfly™ CMS
Forum IndexLicenses, GPL & Violations

Archived ⇒ Licenses, i cant seem to get grip on whats OK and not..

I NOW im a noob but rather safe then sorry... Very Happy

Are you allowed to use Dragonfly for a company's webpage or is it only for "private" (ie no commersial) usage ??

I will not charge the company anything for setting up this excellent software!!

Server specs (Server OS / Apache / MySQL / PHP / DragonflyCMS):
?

Click on the "GNU GPL" and "Code Credits" links at the bottom of the website. It tells you everything you need to know.

Essentially, as long as you don't claim it as your work, and leave the required credits for the hardwork of others in place, I believe you can use it wherever you'd like.

Of course, I can't speak for the Dev team, but that's my understanding of things.

- |\\/|ystic

Ubuntu 14.04.1/Apache 2/5.5.38/5.5.9/9.4.0.0

The requirement for credits is simple courtesy and its presence on your site is a requirement to receive support here Smile

In a nutshell, GNU/GPL means you are free to use the code but must not sell it. There are a few other ramifications but, as Mystic said, it's basically all there in the links. There are several other discussions about charging for installation, like setting up a custom website for someone etc.

DonationsPro for DragonflyCMS & SMF

To may best knowledge one might even sell the software but should allow free copying it and make the source accessible. (Linux is GPLed, and all software that depends on linux kernel should be GPLed as well, yet people sell linux distributions, etc.)

Gentoo Linux and Windows 2003 server, CPGNuke 9.0.1.x