Dragonfly CMS v9 ⇒ Switch from X to Dragonfly v9 ⇒ Dragonfly standalone forum? ⇒ Community Forums ⇒ CPG Dragonfly™ CMS
Forum IndexSwitch from X to Dragonfly v9

Dragonfly standalone forum? Reply to topic

We have a site currently running the Dragonfly CMS. I was wondering if it was possible to have Dragonfly be a standalone forum instead of an entire site?

I don't find the Dragonfly very user friendly on the backend or for the end-user experience (except for the forum). I still want to keep Dragonfly as my forum solution, but the rest of the site developed another way. I am a web developer and have very little experience with Dragonfly.

Thanks!

Server specs (Server OS / Apache / MySQL / PHP / DragonflyCMS):
na

Then just don't use the rest of it. Make Forums your Home page module (Admin > General > Modules > select Make Home on Forums module) and be done with it. Have seen several sites built this way - in fact recommended it to several phpBB2 sites way back when BB2 was a little too susceptible to attack - and CPG/Dragonfly was as solid as a rock.

But you can also build the rest of the site - from the components and add-ons - in DF very, very easily, and have the fully the security, registration and protection of a fully debugged DF CMS, so I don't know why you would want to do it this way...

Oddly enough the Forums seems in general to come in for more criticism than any other Dragonfly module...

Pro_News CM™ - Content Management for Dragonfly CMS™

Linux / 1.3.39 - 2.4.9 / 5.5.42 - 5.6.16 / 5.4.37 - 5.5.11 / 9.4

I may try this. Thanks layingback.

Unfortunately the Dragonfly CMS doesn't really give me the creative license I need for my web design. I will have to explain how to use the CMS to someone else one day and it's not very easy to do with DF.

na