Dragonfly CMS v9 ⇒ CPG-BB (forum) ⇒ Mod / hack for blocking site trolls ⇒ Community Forums ⇒ CPG Dragonfly™ CMS
Forum Index Modules & Blocks CPG-BB (forum)

Mod / hack for blocking site trolls Reply to topic

Have put this together for a site I use which has an ongoing problem with a few Trolls, and with other users who simply haven't got the self-control to ignore them.

It's basically an Admin-defined "ignore" list that users can opt-out of if they want. Admin also have the power to over-rule an opt-out if the user concerned persistently troll-baits. It involves two new columns in `user_info`, one new record in `user_fields`, and small changes to 3 core files.

Two things I could do with help with:

1) Anyone who'd be prepared to check the changes to confirm there are no security or performance implications would be appreciated.

2) If the code looks secure, help on how to package and offer it as a Mod would be appreciated as this is my first attempt at Mod / hack writing that may be useful to a more general market.

Server specs (Server OS / Apache / MySQL / PHP / DragonflyCMS):
winxp/2.0/5.0.27/5.2.0/9.1.2.1

If you make it a 'block-list' I'll support you totally... meaning each user has a list that they maintain and who ever is on the list is not seen in the forums...

Unix / 2.0.46 (Red Hat) / 0.9.7a / 4.1.9-standard / 4.3.2 / 9.0.6.1

well, wasn't the plan with the problem we had - more one of "Troll Baiters" than the trolls themselves tbh Wink - but can certainly look at modding it.

I believe they've included that in ForumPro anyway, but I guess a lot of sites won't want to make a full upgrade?

This MOD is now running on a test site at www.ournet.org.uk/tft and also gone live on www.arrse.co.uk

On the test site there are a number of users set up (listed on the test thread) who's passwords are the same as their usernames so if anyone wants to play, feel free.