Dragonfly CMS v9 ⇒ Modules & Blocks :: Archives ⇒ Develop a new module for data visualization (swim) :: Archived ⇒ Community Forums ⇒ CPG Dragonfly™ CMS
Forum IndexModules & Blocks

Archived ⇒ Develop a new module for data visualization (swim)

Hi guys,
i'm in a swimming team and we are usign dragonfly for the next version of our site.

We got a custom db table (not one from Dragonfly pkg) that contains all our swim data: times, dates, places, etc.

I'd like to create a new module (but in the future i think even a block will be needed) to show those infos.

I'm not a php developer and i'm not so smart to understand fastly what to do to create that module.

Can someone help me do that? Even docs and links where to find info is ok.

Is there anyother swimmer outhere that wants to partecipate to this project?

Thanks in advance

Server specs (Server OS / Apache / MySQL / PHP / DragonflyCMS):
9.x

well over on DF Bounty they are working on an exercise module .. you could probably use that some how.

Windows XP/Apache 2.0.52/MySQL 4.0.21/PHP 5.0.2/DragonflyCMS 9.0.6.0/ Mozilla Firefox1.7x IE6 Opera 8.0

it is very easy to take things out of a db and show it.

to make a module you need to do something along these lines:

if(!defined('CPG_NUKE')) exit(); global $prefix,$db,$userinfo; $pagetitle='Swim stuff '._BC_DELIM.' Stats'; require_once('header.php'); echo 'Hello '.$userinfo['username'].'<hr />'; $res=$db->sql_query('SELECT * FROM '.$prefix.'_module_table WHERE 1'); while($out=$db->sql_fetchrow($res)) { echo 'something: '.$out['column_name'].'<br />'; echo 'stuff: '.$out['stuffs_column_name'].'<br />'; echo 'something else: '.$out['other_column_name'].'<hr />'; } require_once('footer.php');

That is very simplistic, and if the table is not df then no need to use the $prefix variable.

That is the general lines of it.

to make a block take out the $pagetitle, require_once('header.php');, and require_once('footer.php');, and relace all echo with $content.=