Miscellaneous ⇒ Search Engines :: Archives ⇒ Block, Ban, Bad IP/Bot :: Archived ⇒ Community Forums ⇒ CPG Dragonfly™ CMS
Forum IndexSearch Engines

Archived ⇒ Block, Ban, Bad IP/Bot

I have been looking here and trying to locate a simple way to ban bad IP's etc. I have a bot that just keeps sucking up my site and will not listen to the robot.txt file

I have seen a bunch of stuff here but none seem to be a complete on how to do this, I'm not a programers so get me pointed to the right spot would be great and I should be able to figure it out from that point on, Just need to know were to go and how to fix thanks.

thanks as Always.

www.azbaja.com
www.Fire-Fight.com

Server specs (Server OS / Apache / MySQL / PHP / DragonflyCMS):
CMS 9.1.2.1

just before this line in your root directory .htaccess file,# deny most common except .phpadd the following linedeny from xxx.xxx.xxx.xxxe.g.deny from 24.7.105.82 # deny most common except .php
NOTE: keep a backup copy of your original htaccess file, just in case.
There are numerous topics in the forum on this subject - search for "ban htaccess"

DonationsPro for DragonflyCMS & SMF

Thanks, worked great, I was just putting the deny from xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx in the wrong spot.

www.azbaja.com
www.Fire-Fight.com

CMS 9.1.2.1

Any way of doing this without using htaccess? I'm on IIS and htaccess doesn't do anything....

XP / IIS / 4.1.19 / 5.1.4 / 9.0.6.1

Brammers wrote
Any way of doing this without using htaccess? I'm on IIS and htaccess doesn't do anything....

Here is a page on Microsoft's site that explains how to do the equivilent for .htacces in IIS:
support.microsoft.com/...064/EN-US/

It sounds like you may also be able to do something with ASP that is equivilent, but I don't know anything about it.

Put this down as yet another reason why Apache is better than IIS.

Linux 2.6.9/Apache 1.3.36/MySQL 4.1.18/PHP 5.1.4/CPG Nuke 9.1.0.8 (Modified)

dragonflycms.org/Forum...isapi.html