Support ⇒ Troubleshootings ⇒ connection to Database server failed (too many connections) ⇒ Community Forums ⇒ CPG Dragonfly™ CMS
Forum IndexTroubleshootings

connection to Database server failed (too many connections) Reply to topic

Hi, if you go to my site catholicwritersguild.com, you'll see the following message:

The connection to the database server failed, sorry for the inconvenience

We should be back shortly

---

Now, I spoke to the service provider, and it says I have too many SQL connections to the database. I must admit, I am still a bit of a newb at this and I have no idea what that means. I've tried reinstalling dragonfly to connect it to the database wondering if perhaps the code was hacked or something and that installing the upgrade would allow the site to talk to the database again. No dice. The username and password for the database all line up. So...what is happening? Can someone give me some guidance?

Thanks for any help you can give me. Bless you guys.

Server specs (Server OS / Apache / MySQL / PHP / DragonflyCMS):
Linux/PHP Version 5.2.17 MySQL Version 5.5.32-log (client: 5.5.32)/Dragonfly 9.3.4.0

In includes/config.php change
define('CPG_DEBUG', false);
to
define('CPG_DEBUG', true);

This should show the correct error message why the connection fails.

Fedora 25 / Apache 2.4.27 / MariaDB 10.1.26 / PHP 7.1.10 / Mercurial

DJ Maze wrote
In includes/config.php change
define('CPG_DEBUG', false);
to
define('CPG_DEBUG', true);

This should show the correct error message why the connection fails.

It is set to this--same error.
--Ann

Linux/PHP Version 5.2.17 MySQL Version 5.5.32-log (client: 5.5.32)/Dragonfly 9.3.4.0

Could you try in includes/config.php
define('DB_TYPE', 'mysqli');

I will, thanks.